hair mask

Guys I am so excited to try this! While in Australia, I decided I wanted to give my hair a break. I’ve pretty much been dying, bleaching and styling my hair since…well I don’t even know when, probably since middle school. Especially when working full-time, I always woke up, showered, blow dried and styled my hair every single day. I have been really looking and reading into healthy hair posts for a while now and I am trying to bring it back to life! I have extremely oily hair and if I don’t wash it once a day it gets to look oily. And yes, I use dry shampoo but that stuff seriously puts a hole in your wallet. So recently, since I’m not working every day, I don’t wash for as long as I can stand it, but use dry shampoo, or I’ve been letting it air dry – because lets be honest – no one in Aus gives a sh** what you look like or are wearing. You can honestly go into the grocery store without shoes or a shirt and no one cares – and yes, I’ve witnessed this multiple times! Anyways…I wanted to take the few years that we are here and try to not use heat, hot tools, or many products on my hair and just give it a breather. Then, once I get back home to my hair queen Carolyn (who does the most amazing work at Copacetic btw) we can start from scratch, and hopefully not destroy it again. So here’s the DIY hair mask I truly believe will work wonders on your hair. I’ve read reviews and seen pictures and this is supposed to strengthen and grow your hair even within the first week.

img_4178

I like it because It’s not a “leave-in” overnight treatment. You throw it in, mix it around, and you’re done in 30 min (that’s exactly enough time for a glass of Sauvignon Blanc and an episode of Shameless). So there’s only 4 ingredients and they will all come in a big enough bottles that should last you a while. The most expensive was the Argan oil I got because it was OGX brand and because in Australia everything is expensive, but it still was only $19! So you’ll need:

1. Argan Oil – This is made for your hair, it was in the hair section at the pharmacy. this literally smells so good I can’t even explain it (wouldn’t it be cool if I could attach a smell in this blog post?!) This protects UV damage, styling heat, & because this is for shine, it’s a great idea to use it if you’re doing some sort of sleek updo or just want a straightened smooth silky look. A little drip of this goes a LONG way (just put some in as I was typing this out!) so it’s totally worth the money.

2. Castor Oil – So for this one I had to do bit of research.Castor oil can be used on the scalp to help prevent and remedy hair loss and it is effective at this for several reasons. It’s antibacterial and anti fungal properties make it beneficial against follliculitus, dandruff and scalp infections and its ricinoleic acid content helps increase circulation to the scalp and improve hair growth” Sounds great! Done.

3. Virgin Coconut Oil – Cocounut oil is pretty self explanatory. Great for so many reasons.

4. Peppermint Oil – I got a wee little bottle of this stuff from Health Hut back in Pittsburgh and haven’t even used it hardly at all so I’m excited to finally put it to use! I had to research this a bit as well and found a really good post on it… “First of all, peppermint oil is going to rejuvenate your hair follicles and will help your hair grow directly by increasing the hair follicles’ activities and also shielding them from germs and yeasts, on the long run, this is going to make your hair follicles live longer and also be more productive. Peppermint oil will bind to your hair roots and also improve your scalp health, by increasing blood flow and healthy blood circulation, this is going to increase your hair growth dramatically” Wow thanks for the info HairyScalp.com !

So the concoction will be:

3 Tbsp Coconut Oil

3 Drops of Peppermint Oil

1 Teaspoon of Castor Oil

1/4 Teaspoon of Argan Oil

You pretty much mix these together as best you can (you might have to heat up the coconut) and massage it onto your scalp and let it sit under a shower cap on your head. (let’s be honest, these are going in my bathroom and I’m not measuring them out each time I do it because I’m lazy, but these are the recipe instructions I’ve gathered online)

I’m honestly excited to tackle dandruff, split ends, dead and thin hair all at once! I’m totally sold on this, especially because they are all essential, natural oils. There are so many uses for all these oils and so many different hair/skin treatments for them. I highly suggest this if you have thinning hair or just want to get it back to health!!!!!

I should probably add a before and after collage after I have used it for a couple weeks, I’ll try to remember this!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Great read! I need to try this hair mask!

    Like

  2. Joan Marcinko says:

    My mother used to give me a Tbsp. of castor oil when I was sick! I’m impressed with your research!

    Sent from my Verizon, Samsung Galaxy smartphone

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

