desummber thoughts

OMG! I have been neglecting my “blog”. Oops. I started working part-time so I have less boredom time to spend on fancy blog posts! The job is great, and working downtown (Aussies call it the CBD – Central Business District) is very festive with Christmas approaching. It is still so strange to have Christmas during summertime. Now the colder months will probably be unbearable because there is no Christmas during that time (dramatic, but I don’t care)! We are looking into booking a longer vacation for May or June so it’ll be nice to visit the warmer area during our cold months here in Melbourne. So what else has been happening…nothing really? We’ve both just been busy working, eating and sleeping.

Christmas is so depressing without your family and friends…and delicious desserts and food all around. I didn’t think I’d be this homesick during the holidays times, I think I’m pretty tough when it comes to emotions but I’m really feeling sad about it lately! I asked Robbie (Mr. Non-Emotional) and he said “yeah I’ve been feeling homesick too but I think if I don’t say it outloud it won’t be true” -LOL. I was like DONT DO THAT! I miss being able to text my friends and walk to a happy hour or restaurant for dinner (Chipotle). But at the same time, I want everyone here with us instead of us coming home! I think another thing I’m missing is just being there while things at home aren’t the best for my family. Just health concerns with family members and other issues, it just sucks I can’t be there to visit or let them know I care more. But I love and miss you all!!!! And we did send Christmas cards but not sure if they will make it to everyone on time…and they were $3.00 EACH to send so I’m really sorry that I couldn’t send one to everyone. Robbie only gives me an allowance of $5.00 a week….just kidding.

A lot of friends keep saying they will be visiting and I really hope it’s true! I get so excited thinking about my brother visiting in a month and just showing him around! I get so excited when I know other people will be excited haha. Okay this blogpost seems so random because I’ve had way too much coffee – like 3 cups of espresso and now it’s hard to type! Shakey AF!

So…I did a social media “cleanse” for a week and it was so good! I deactivated Facebook, deleted snapchat and IG from my phone for a week and I honestly loved it. I know…I can’t believe it either. I was on Pinterest looking at something, that lead to another thing and I finally landed on a girl’s post about her social media break that she took and the one section of it had questions about social media like: Does social media leave you sitting on your couch not paying attention to friends/family/convos? Does social media leave you comparing your life to other’s lives? Does social media cause you to create illusions of a life that you only partially live? And I was like oh my gosh!!! This is so true for a lot of people. I was on the train the other day and this girl in front of me was editing a mirror selfie she took, and was spending so much time on it and it literally made me sick thinking about it. Like, that’s not what you look like in real life so isn’t that going to be embarrassing when you go out on a date with someone and they’re like “wait…what? this isn’t you?”. I wonder what would happen if Facebook/IG/Snapchat went away, or if they’ll ever go away. It’d be so weird. I’m so glad I did it and I think if you use SM a lot like I did (did is past-tense because it honestly weened me off of it and I’m so thankful, I used it way too much!) you should do it too! It seriously is a fact that some people use it so much that they compare their lives and end up with negative/sad feelings after seeing everyone else’s “perfect illusions” on there. I’m not saying you should only post ugly or sad things, but a lot of the time we only see the good or the “staged” pictures that are literally one moment out of the time spent wherever that person is, and it can be so fake and it’s not a good message to spread. I’m also not dissing Facebook or any of those apps because I, for one, am so grateful for social media and how it connects people because I found a long lost family member on it! That’s how great it can be! I hope this is making sense…I’m like super emotional today haha!

SO ANYWAYS. Personally, I think it was great and honestly relaxing. I know I’m not the best writer, I’m literally just jotting down my thoughts today so I hope you guys can deal with that.

I’m trying to watch Gilmore Girls and I don’t really understand why everyone likes it so much, same with Pretty Little Liars and Gossip Girl. Maybe I just missed the part in my life where those were relatable and good…like teenage years or something haha. I really just need Bloodline and Walking Dead to have new seasons on Netflix in Australia.

So my brother Nic comes in January…were heading up to Sydney in March and then in June we are hopefully going to be heading to the Great Barrier Reef! I’m sooooo excited and thankful for being here I honestly never thought that this is the place my husband and I would be living. Do you ever look back and you’re like “well in 3rd grade I wanted to be an artist” and now you’re like “I never thought this is how my life would end up”! It’s crazy and God works in mysterious ways. I’m really hoping our big trip next year will be to New Zealand which has always been #1 on my bucket list!!!!!

Things I miss very badly:

  1. Amazon Prime
  2. Chipotle
  3. Chick-Fil-A
  4. Living Proof hair products
  5. Dryer Sheets?!?!?!?!?!!
  6. Plastics Tampons (sorry, but seriously!)
  7. Great Internet Connections
  8. Boozy Brunches
  9. Tanner
  10. Pittsburgh Restaurants/Breweries
  11. Steelers Tailgates

First world problems I know! But I do miss these things badly. Enjoy some random photos I’ve taken around Melbourne below! xoxo

img_1047-copy
Our Super-moon view!

IMG_0773.jpg

IMG_2993.JPG

IMG_0795.jpg

IMG_0759bnw.jpg

IMG_0139.jpg

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Elsa Simcik says:

    Enjoyed your post!! I too would miss a lot of those things…why no dryer sheets?! Also, I think I will too take a break from SM! Merry Hot Christmas!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Sister!!!! You’ll enjoy your break! I promise! Haha! Merry Christmas to your family too!

      Like

    2. #11-Grandma Sylv. Don’t forget Momma. What’s the matta wit you kid? We is # 1

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mom says:

    Awe Little Kates! We really miss you too. This will the first Christmas you haven’t been home :((((( . We LOVE ypu and Robbie and wish we could be there with you…..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amanda says:

    We all miss you!! I hope you and Robbie have a nice Christmas together!! Love ya girlie!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joan says:

    I loved your ramblings. Miss you so much–especially will on Christmas when the cousins come. Maybe we can do face time

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

