lots of firsts

Well it’s been quite the haul, but we are finally in our new apartment. Believe it or not, this was Robbie and I’s first flight(s) together, ever! We never really traveled back in the USA. There is so much that is so different about living here. Then again, sometimes I don’t even feel like we are here!

It definitely took a while to get used to the time difference, and the weather. I don’t know why we were so naive about packing. We both kept looking at the weather while we were back in USA, and both thought “Oh, it’s Australia, it’s gotta be nice and warm and sunny”. But let me tell you…it’s chilly here! We went out and bought coats our first day here because all I had was a sweatshirt! I definitely will take the winter here over winter in Pittsburgh though.

Our first week here Robbie got really sick with something awful, and I felt horrible. I panicked for a day because he was so bad he didn’t get out of bed, and I was thinking “Oh my gosh, I’m going to have to take him the ER (on the opposite side of the road!!!)” But thankfully, our other Aussie expat told us about a great vitamin and he was feeling better in a couple of days. As soon as he felt better I planned our first road trip to Great Ocean Road to visit the Twelve Apostles for that weekend. I can’t wait until someone comes over to visit us so we can go back! I.E. instagram overload…see pics below!

A post shared by KT Simcik (@kimygibbler) on

A post shared by KT Simcik (@kimygibbler) on

 

We had Robbie’s Welcoming Happy Hour about a week ago, so it was really nice to be introduced to a lot of the colleagues he would be working with. They were all extremely nice and friendly, as most Aussies are. It was a fun AF!

We tried some food in Chinatown on a Sunday…not the best food experience we’ve had. We were trying to be adventurous. If you follow me on snapchat you were probably gagging on your end too, #chickenfeet. Overall, the food scene is awesome. Around every single corner is some sort of cafe, the Aussies LOVE their coffee, and I was instantly hooked. They don’t have any drip coffee here like we do at home, it’s all freshly ground/made espresso, latte, cappuccino, you name it!

Just ONE MORE thing that I love about Melbourne is the fashion! Everyone always looks so nice. It’s a black/gray/white city. Everyone wears black. My entire wardrobe is black/gray so I was obviously pumped about fitting in. You can honestly wear anything you want here, and no one will bat an eye. I’ve been thinking about doing a blogpost on street fashion because it’s so awesome! Hopefully I’ll actually have the guts to ask strangers for their photo.

 

Overall we’re both liking it a lot, and are excited to explore! Here are some pictures of our apartment, it’s so sad and empty because we are waiting for our furniture to get here.

 

 

As the Aussies say “Cheers” to my first blogpost ever!

 

 

 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. MOM says:

    Super good job little kates. Look forward to reading and seeing more. Great idea on the blog $!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Nicky! This comment was constructive in no way. 🙂

    Like

  3. Jen Frum says:

    Love the blog! Glad you did it, now I can stalk you on snap and this lol Enjoy! Can’t wait to hear more

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sara B says:

    This is the first blog I have ever googled/read and I loved it! Jonny asked me why I was laughing and all I could think about is you freaking out having to drive on the other side of the road! I can’t wait to read the next one!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sylvia Michel says:

    Super great ,Katie. Your apt.looks nice and will be really nice when your furniture arrives. I never realized how long it would take to ship furniture over there. I guess you should have shipped it a month before you left.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Amanda Hiltz says:

    Yay KT!! Cant wait until you start taking pictures of strangers, I’m eager to see some of the fashion scene!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jill says:

    I think Aldi’s should pay for me to come help you with your apartment set up when your furniture goods are delivered…just sayin

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha! I’ll have to check on that!

      Like

  8. Love the blog. Great way to keep everyone up to date. Write another one soon so we can be a part of your adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. MPM says:

    This is great! Looking forward to following this new chapter in your life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

